On Behalf of Diehl & Hubbell, Attorneys at Law
What Ohio Parents Can Do to Protect Their Teen Drivers
If you're the parent of a new teenage driver, your worry and anxiety may be overwhelming for you every time they get behind the wheel. The Ohio State Highway Patrol (OSHP) reported over 132,000 accidents in 2016-2018 involving at least one driver under 18. This shocking statistic underscores the importance of parents teaching their children the importance of safety while on the road.
Below are our top seven tips to help keep your teenage driver safe:
Stay Off the Phone
This may seem like a no-brainer, but it bears repeating that distracted driving is one of the top causes of auto accidents in Ohio. State law makes it illegal for any driver under the age of 18 from using their smartphone or other wireless devices while behind the wheel.
Don't Drive in a Hurry
We love our teens, but they can be very impulsive. This can be dangerous while driving if they decide to speed on back roads or beat a red light on the way to work or school.
Even though this is a legal requirement for drivers of all ages, it's vital to get your child in the habit of wearing one. Data has proven seatbelts save lives, yet teens drive unbuckled 60% of the time, leading to injuries that wouldn't have been fatal.
Never Drink and Drive
Underage drinking is illegal and a dangerous situation when driving. Younger drivers may not be as likely to drink and drive, but their risk of causing an alcohol-related crash is even higher when they do.
Minimize Driving After Sunset
A large percentage of fatal accidents involving teen drivers occur after dark. Ohio driving laws impose restrictions on teen drivers during certain hours of the night:
Teens with less than 12 months of probationary licensing cannot drive between 12:00 a.m. and 6 a.m. unless their parent or guardian is with them.
Those under 18 who have held a probationary driver's license for more than 12 months can be on the road between 1 a.m. and 5 a.m. when a parent or guardian is with them.
There are a few exceptions for teens in both of these categories when it comes to school activities, work schedules, and emergencies.
Keep Passengers to a Minimum
Current driving laws in Ohio, impose strict passenger restrictions during the first 12-month probationary period. Teen drivers that are 16 years of age cannot have more than one non-family passenger in the vehicle with them at a time unless a parent or guardian is accompanying. Once your child turns 18, this restriction is lifted, along with state nighttime driving stipulations.
Pay Attention to the Weather
Weather conditions can dramatically increase your teen driver's risk of an accident. Teaching your child how to safely maneuver when hydroplaning or hitting black ice could save their life.
Was Your Teen Involved in an Ohio Car Accident?
From distracted driving to sudden stops, there are many challenges inexperienced teenage drivers face when first learning how to drive. If your child was injured in a car accident because of another person's negligence, make sure you take steps to protect their right to recover compensation. For over 30 years Diehl & Hubbell has served Southwestern Ohio families who have been wrongly injured because of another person's reckless behavior while driving.
We have the skill and experience you can trust to ensure your teen driver gets the fair compensation they deserve. Contact our office online or call us to schedule a free initial consultation.